I’m Officially ‘That Girl Who Reads Books’

Dog and Cat In Library
Snagged from:
http://www.clipartpal.com

I’ve decided to create this blog to hold myself liable for the books I have amassed. I am a sentimental person. I cry as often as I laugh, and I hold on to things, books in particular, because memories live within them—I don’t even have to read a book to attach a memory to it.

This blog is an attempt to utilize the books I own, set those memories free, and find a new home for my collection.

That Girl Who Reads Books is not a review of books, but I imagine it will sometimes seem that way. I do not plan to give any of these books negative commentary because 1.) I feel that books just have a hard enough time being books 2.) Someone out there spent a lot of time and energy on them either writing or publishing  3.) I’m not a professional book critic 4.) There’s enough negative energy out there, why add to it?

Not only will I be reading all of the books I own, but I will also be reading all of the books my husband owns, as well as children’s books I picked up for when my nieces visit.

I hope to post twice a week,  limiting myself to 700 words. But be warned: I am a rule breaker.

Post titles will be the ISBN number of the book I’ve been reading. Why? Because I’m a nerd who doesn’t like coming up with titles for blog posts. And, in my opinion, ISBN numbers don’t get enough press.

To my husband and nieces: I will not give away your books without your permission.

To everyone else, if you like this blog, please share, and if you’d like to know more about the blog, check out the  ABOUT tab. If you’d like to know more about me, check out the Charlie M. Broderick tab.

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Fiction, Life, Uncategorized, Writing

3 responses to “I’m Officially ‘That Girl Who Reads Books’

  1. Excited to see you here, Charlie! Can’t wait to read more.

  2. Dana

    don’t forget “guest bloggers”- there are plenty out there with similar stacks of books and feelings for them.
    looking forward to reading this blog regularly.

  3. “I feel that books just have a hard enough time being books…”

    Isn’t that the truth!

Leave a Reply

