ISBN 0-345-31858-7 Part III of III

The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien

After reading The Hobbit, I discussed it with Husband.

Me: The sentences weren’t that long.

Husband: It’s a kid’s book.

Me: What? There’s a lot of the stuff that nightmares are made of in this book.

Husband: Like what?

Me: Like the [plural noun]. (I don’t want to give too much away.)

Husband: They stand for industrialization.

Me: As I said, the stuff that nightmares are made of.

I’m not going to address the obvious themes and morals The Hobbit makes one think of when reading. Instead, I would like to announce the unsung hero of The Hobbit 

The Thrush.

This bird was in right place at the right time, all the time. It listens. It watches. It shares. It’s nice that way. Might I add, that the thrush knows exactly which person needs valuable information at just the moment they need it? Don’t understand what the thrush is saying? No problem. It finds another who can interpret for it.

As I wrote this, ‘June Hymn’ by The Decembrists came on Pandora. Find lyrics here. How often is a thrush mentioned in a song?!

I spend the next half hour listening to thrush calls. Reason 9873 I love my job.

It’s not like the thrush has a comfortable, easy life either, for Bilbo Baggins himself throws a stone at the thrush. The bird annoys him. Thorin has to step in and be all, ‘What did you do that for? That’s a good and friendly bird, yo.’

I text Husband:

I love you more than Gollum loves his ring.

I go back to listening to thrush calls.

I think about J.R.R Tolkien, summer sun on his back, listening to thrush songs in 1937. I am so glad he had the heart to listen. To watch. To share. To shake off the rocks thrown in his direction from time to time. There and back again? Indeed.

6 Comments

Filed under Art, Books, Life, Writing

6 responses to “ISBN 0-345-31858-7 Part III of III

  1. That’s because you are cooler than me and always have been. My phone is just a little flip phone that barely sends texts. Your ring tone is one of the many, many reasons we are friends.

  2. I love that you chose the thrush from the book, and Tolkien’s care given to the bird. I listened to the call, and it’s cheerful. Reminds me of a walk in the woods.

  3. Pingback: ISBN 13:0-374-51536-2 (Part I of II) | That Girl Who Reads Books

  4. Hold tight to your book interpretations…but keep those texts going to your husband, too!

Leave a Reply

