ISBN: 9780151013838

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

 “If we, citizens, do not support our artists, then we sacrifice our imagination on the altar of crude reality and we end up believing in nothing and having worthless dreams.”

-Yann Martel, Life of Pi

I’m glad that Charlie decided to write this blog. I enjoy reading her posts.  I went to school with her since 7th grade, and throughout high school, taking almost all of our International Baccalaureate classes together.  For as long as I have known her, she always loved to write, and whenever I got to read her writing, I was always amazed at how well she was able to express herself.

I’m not a writer myself, but I always loved to write.  As a young girl, I kept a diary for many years. I also love to read. This is why I decided to blog about one of the books that I enjoyed reading a few years ago and never forgot: Life of Pi by Yann Martel.

Life of Pi is unlike any other book I have read. The main character of the book is a boy called Piscine Molitor “Pi” Patel from Pondicherry, India.  In the book, he faces the most difficult and life-changing experiences.  Throughout the book, the reader learns about spirituality, zoology, life in India, survival, and obstacles Pi has to face after leaving his home.

The book talks about life in Pondicherry, India.  While reading this part of the book, I am reminded of the time I spent in Pune, India.  Thanks to spending two months in India, I was able to understand and relate to the description of life in this country.  I saw the poverty, old cave temples, and different cities throughout the country.  I tasted all kinds of spices and different types of Indian food, heard their music, took rickshaws around the city, and after everything that I experienced, I can say that it is a county unlike any other, so unique and beautiful in its own way.

The book teaches us not only about life in India, but about spirituality as well.  We learn of Hinduism, Islam, and Christianity.  Throughout my life, I studied these three religions.  In fact, I had to leave my home country, Bosnia and Herzegovina, because of a war that broke out as a result of three different religions/ethnicities that lived in the same country.  Even though I am not a religious person, starting in high school, I took interest in reading about different religions and read books about Hinduism in India, and even read about the conflict between religions in my home country.

This is what led me to major in Anthropology in college.  I wanted to learn more about different cultures, religions, traditions, art and food around the world.  Even though now I have a full time job and I do not have much time to travel to different countries, in my free time I enjoy making jewelry that is influenced by different cultures, traditions, and art that I have seen in different countries I visited.

Here are some examples of the earrings I make.  You can find them by visiting my online shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/MajaEarrings.

Earrings

The book also talks about animals, a zoo, treatment of animals, and the survival of both humans and animals. Throughout the book we learn about the nature of a Bengal Tiger called Richard Parker.  Sometimes even people can identify with animals, especially when they face hardships in their lives and have to follow their instinct to survive.  People living in a society, surrounded by other people are shaped by their surroundings.  If a person is all alone in the middle of nowhere, fighting to survive, they might find themselves acting out of their character, resembling a tiger that is following his instinct in order to survive.

It has been years since I read this book, but I have not forgotten it.  I would like to reread it again sometime soon, so that I can remember some of the details I may have forgotten.  This is the kind of book that you can read as many times as you would like,but each time you read it, you experience it in a different way, finding out new things, learning something new about life, and about human nature.

I recommend this book to everyone!  It is definitely a book that you will remember many years from now!

* The artwork seen in this blog comes from a special addition of the book with illustrations by a Croatian artist Tomislav Torjanac.  This artwork is a great addition to the book and represents the events throughout the book really well. *

Story Design Life of Pi

“You must take life the way it comes at you and make the best of it.”
― Yann MartelLife of Pi

1 Comment

Filed under Art, Books, Cats, Fiction, Life, Literature, Random, Travel, Writing

One response to “ISBN: 9780151013838

  1. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

