UPDATES

Since today’s post is just a couple of updates, I decided not to pair the post with a book. Sorry!

The first bit of news is that Breezy Books nominated me for this award:

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers 

Thank you so much, Maddie. I feel like I’m NEVER nominated for anything, so I gladly accept.  According to the rules for this award, I must nominate five other bloggers for the award and state seven things about myself. Here goes:

Other girls you may want to check out are:

Sarah In Small Doses 

Fifty Rows Up

Some Stolen Moments

Square Candies That Look Round

How To Spy On Birds

& Seven things about me:

  1. I love to take long baths. For hours. I refill the tub when the water gets cold. I love baths so much that I even have an antique claw foot bathtub in my back yard, but it’s not for bathing. I hope to make it into a planter for an herb garden next spring.
  2. Do you know those claw games that you see in arcades that drop down and grab a toy? When I play them, I win. A lot. It’s a skill that never ceases to impress small children.
  3. I drive around an old bike named Chester. I am convinced the bicycle has magical powers because no matter how far I ride, it only takes me half as long to get home as it takes me to get to a place. IE: If I take a two-hour drive on winding country roads, I will be able to make it home in only one hour.
  4. I have a crush on Stevie Nicks.
  5.  I once went on a date to a Beastie Boys concert where the guy asked me to tailgate before hand and have Caribou in the parking lot. Great! Who doesn’t love coffee? When I got there, I realized he meant Caribou the animal, not Caribou with caffeine. Woops!
  6. I have an addiction to ginger candy and tea.
  7.  Mary GrandPré, the illustrator for the Harry Potter series, hand painted the back room of my house.

The second bit of news is that I will be scaling back from two posts a week, to just one post on Thursday mornings. I have some thick books in the collection that will require a bit more reading time, and now that the blog is established, I would like to spend a bit more time on my writing.

Happy October!

9 Comments

Filed under Art, Bike Rides, Books, Children, Contest, Fiction, Life, Literature, Random, Writing

9 responses to “UPDATES

  1. You are so talented, Charlie! I have spent more time and money than I care to admit watching the claw game as our son tried to win the stuffed animals. Love that you name your bike Chester. 🙂 Have fun reading and writing!

    • Thank you! The trick with the claw game is that they’re rigged to ‘grab’ every 4-5 turns. Just gotta know when it’s gonna be ready to grab. Other times you have to knock the animal down the shoot. 🙂

  2. Wow! Thanks so much. I’m touched. You totally deserve it, by the way. I always look forward to reading your posts — sorry you’ll be taking away that little motivation to get through Monday mornings, but there will still be that Thursday pick-me-up.
    Cheers,
    Clare

  3. Thank you for continuing to read my blog and for the honor of the nomination! I really enjoy your style and hope you will continue to include more of your writing here as you strike the balance between reading your many books and writing your wonderful words. 🙂

  4. Pingback: appreciation of sisterhood « some stolen moments

  5. Congratulations on your award nomination. I just recently found your blog, but have enjoyed it so far.

Leave a Reply

