ISBN-13: 978-0-671-02734-6

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

 

When I’m feeling nostalgic for payphones I rent a movie, but that only makes things worse because I can’t go to a real video store anymore. The title up for discussion this week is The Perks Of Being AWallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

I read the book and rented the movie because I wanted to compare them. The book was better, but I think it’s okay for me to say that because according to Wikipedia, SC wrote the screenplay and directed the movie.

The movie was good, but I marked just about every page in the book. The narrator, Charlie, stands out so much more as a character in the book. He feels so much more human. For example Charlie states: I turned around and walked to my room and closed my door and put my head under my pillow and let the quiet put things where they are supposed to be. A movie can show Charlie going to his room and putting his head under the pillow, but it could never show how he let the quiet put things where they were supposed to be.

The reason the book found me was this passage:

This one time when it’s peaceful outside, and you’re seeing things move, and you don’t want to, and everyone is asleep. And all the books you’ve read have been read by other people. And all the songs you’ve loved have been heard by other people. And the girl that’s pretty to you is pretty to other people. And you know that if you looked at these facts when you were happy, you would be describing “unity.”   

Earlier in the week, a friend asked me what were the gifts of having bipolar disorder. My reply was that I saw amazing connections in the world. Before reading this passage, I had never thought about it in terms of “unity.” Now that I’ve read that, this word is the only way I can see things. United.

It’s worth it to check out the book, the movie, or both for the song references alone. And if you happen to be a Harry Potter fan there are a few good jokes/references in the movie.

Unity. It’s like a coincidence only better.

I also ought to mention that I have another story published at Fiction Depot. You can check it out here.  The site features a bunch of local talented writers.

Now I’m going to find a payphone because I heard that the last few remaining are time warps.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “ISBN-13: 978-0-671-02734-6

  1. Interesting. I saw the movie on a plane and loved it. Now I may need to search out the book.

  2. I think there is beauty to both forms of art, as you’ve shown, but there is something about someone describing with language something we all have experienced in a way that is refreshing and new that just gets to me. Maybe that’s part of the unity. On a phone-related note, check out my blog tomorrow for a school story.

Leave a Reply

